О нас

Почему сообщество Skyway?

Skyway - это сердце и душа округа Сиэтл-Кинг. Мы гордо разнообразны. Наше сообщество сильное и растет, несмотря на то, что на протяжении десятилетий его игнорировали и игнорировали государственные и частные инвестиции. Мы являемся домом для людей с любым достатком, и мы сопротивляемся давлению джентрификации и перемещения. Мы здесь, чтобы остаться. Ставя в центр справедливой и равноправной продовольственной системы Skyway, мы уважаем и концентрируем голоса сообществ BIPOC, которые слишком долго игнорировались.

Взаимодействие с другими людьми

Мы используем название Skyway для обозначения всего района, который иногда называют Skyway - West Hill.

Skyway является домом для крупнейшего оплота афроамериканцев в штате Вашингтон, а Пакт о городских продовольственных системах отмечает и центрирует лидерство чернокожих в переосмыслении нашей городской продовольственной системы.

Посмотрите это видео, чтобы узнать больше о том, кто мы и что делаем для сообщества Skyway.

Кто мы

Пакт о городских продовольственных системах (UFSP) - это коллектив, возглавляемый чернокожими и женщинами, состоящий из членов сообщества, религиозных лидеров, чернокожих и коричневых фермеров, общественных организаций и школьного округа Рентон, который размещается в Центре Skyway Envision.

Наши цели коллективного воздействия

Мы приступаем к модели коллективного воздействия, чтобы направлять нашу работу. Члены Партнерства UFSP работают вместе, чтобы определить и придерживаться общей повестки дня, общих измерений, взаимоусиливающих действий и непрерывного общения. Основная команда Пакта о городских продовольственных системах выступает в качестве «костяка» нашей модели коллективного воздействия.

Что мы делаем

Мы работаем в партнерстве над созданием справедливой и равноправной местной продовольственной системы в сообществе Skyway. Наша работа направлена на устранение несправедливости и структурного расизма, которые существуют в более широкой продовольственной системе - от фермы до обеденного стола.

Мы намечаем и создаем новый набор отношений в области продовольствия и сельского хозяйства, в центре которого - справедливость. Нынешняя продовольственная система Skyway лишает жителей доступа к здоровой пище и значимой, хорошо оплачиваемой работе в продовольственном и сельскохозяйственном секторе. Мы разрабатываем План действий Сообщества по вопросам продовольственной справедливости. Этот план заложит основу для новой городской продовольственной системы, которая поддерживает физическое, эмоциональное и духовное здоровье, экономические возможности и творческий потенциал всех жителей Skyway.

С учетом этих целей наша текущая и предстоящая деятельность включает:

  • Образование, семинары и планирование действий в области продовольственной справедливости

  • Пропаганда продовольственной справедливости

  • Карьера в программах городского сельского хозяйства

  • Земля для мира (программы городского садоводства)

Обязательства (наши руководящие принципы)

Это наши «черновые» руководящие принципы, основанные на первоначальном мнении сообщества. Мы продолжаем дорабатывать их с дополнительным участием партнеров UFSP.

  • Относитесь ко всем с достоинством и уважением

  • Надежная и неизменная приверженность Skyway

  • Центральные черные голоса и руководство

  • Поддерживайте принадлежность к разнообразному сообществу Skyway

  • Поддерживать общественное лидерство и общественные организации и уделять им приоритетное внимание

  • Комплексный подход к здоровью и благополучию

  • Прозрачные коммуникации

Познакомьтесь с основной командой UFSP

Cherryl Jackson-Williams

Черрил Джексон-Уильямс

Школьный округ Рентон

Черрил Джексон-Уильямс

( Координатор по работе с семьей и обществом, школьный округ Рентон ) имеет более чем тридцатилетний опыт поддержки молодежи и семей в сферах психического здоровья, социальных и социальных услуг, а также взаимодействия с семьей и обществом. Она преуспевает в налаживании партнерских отношений между правительством, коммерческими и некоммерческими организациями, движимая глубоким пониманием того, как эффективное партнерство может улучшить качество жизни наиболее уязвимых из нас. Черрил - выпускница Университета Талсы, имеет степень бакалавра психологии и социологии, а также Нового колледжа Калифорнии, где она имеет степень магистра психологии консультирования.

Jamie Jackson

Сара Линдсли

Пакт о городских продовольственных системах

Руководитель проекта

Сара Линдсли, доктор философии. ( Менеджер проекта The Urban Food Systems Pact ), владелец и генеральный директор Sarah Lindsley Consulting, консалтинговой компании по развитию сообществ. Ее работа основана на более чем двадцатилетнем опыте организации общественных организаций, прогрессивной политической защиты, академических кругов и государственной службы. Сара также работала батраком на фермах по выращиванию органических овощей и овец в начале своей карьеры; участие в UFSP вновь связано с ее глубоко укоренившейся страстью к продовольственной справедливости и устойчивому сельскому хозяйству.

Kimberly Sopher-Dunn

Кимберли Софер-Данн

Новый родильный центр для социальной интеграции

Кимберли Софер-Данн - директор по образованию и наращиванию потенциала сообщества в New Birth Center for Community Inclusion, со-пастор в New Birth Ministries (со своим мужем, пастором Сципио Данном) и основательница The Petah Villages, недавно созданного Открытый детский сад в Skyway. Она проповедник социальной справедливости, певица / автор песен, общественный педагог и автор, со степенью доктора педагогических наук в области трансформационного образования Университета Саймона Фрейзера. Ее цель - реализовать устойчивую экосистему для сообщества Skyway, и ее глубочайшее желание - усилить голоса тех, на кого влияет нехватка питательных самовосстанавливающихся продуктов и экологически безопасных пространств.

La Tanya V.H. Dubois

Ла Таня В. Х. Дюбуа

Тихая оперативная группа

Ryan Quigtar

Райан Куигтар

Партнерство с инновационной зоной Renton

Команда лидеров сообщества UFSP

Yajaira Ambrosia
Wisdom Johnson
Claude Burfect

Яджайра Амброзия

Мудрость Джонсон

Клод Бурфект

Whitney King

Уитни Кинг

File_033.jpeg
Sherry Dione
Pranay Chand

Шерри Дион

Праная Чанд

Наиля Данн

Avery H
Mark Tate
Gerald Bradford
Dr. Oneita Jordan
Gloria Smith
Israel G

Эйвери Хафф

Марк Тейт

Джеральд Брэдфорд

Доктор Онеита Джордан

Глория Смит

Исраэль Гебремариам

Религиозные партнеры

New Birth Center for Community Inclusion
Restoration House Ministries Northwest
Holy Temple Evangelistic Center
Restore & Repair Missionary Church

Сиэтл Word

Божьей церкви

Общественные организации

The Dare2Be Project
The Silent Task Force
Renton Innovation Zone Partnership

Construyendo

Хунтос

NAACP-Seattle King County
SPEB
Skyway Resource Center

Партнеры фермы

Nurturing Roots
Farmer Frog

Институциональные и государственные партнеры

Renton School District
Washington State University
King County Logo Councilmember Girmay Za

About Us

Why the Skyway Community?

 

Skyway is the heart and soul of Seattle-King County.  We are proudly diverse.  Our community is strong and growing despite being ignored and overlooked by government and private investment for decades.  We are home to people of all incomes, and we are resisting the pressures of gentrification and displacement.  We are here to stay.  By centering a just and equitable Food System in Skyway, we honor and center the voices of BIPOC communities that have been ignored for too long. 

We use the name "Skyway" to refer to the entire neighborhood sometimes called "Skyway - West Hill."   

Skyway is home to the largest African-American stronghold in the state of Washington, and the Urban Food Systems Pact celebrates and centers Black leadership in the re-imagining of our Urban Food System.

Play this video to hear more about who we are and what we do for the Skyway Community.

Who We Are

The Urban Food Systems Pact (UFSP) is a Black- and women-led collective of Community Members, Faith-Based Leaders, Black and Brown Farmers, Community Based Organizations and the Renton School District that is hosted by the Skyway Envision Center.

Our Collective Impact Aims

We are embarking on a Collective Impact model to guide our work.  Members of the UFSP Partnership are working together to identify and commit to a Common Agenda, Shared  Measurement, Mutually Reinforcing Activities, and Continuous Communication. The Urban Food Systems Pact core team serves as the "Backbone Organization" for our Collective Impact model.

What We Do

We are working in partnership to build a just and equitable local food system within the Skyway Community. Our work aims to dismantle the inequities and structural racism that exist in the broader food system from the farm to the dinner table.  

 

We are visioning and creating a new set of relationships around food and agriculture with justice at the center.  The current food system in Skyway denies residents access to healthy foods and to meaningful, well-paying jobs in the food and agricultural sector.  We are developing a Food Justice Community Action Plan.  This plan will lay the groundwork for a new Urban Food System that supports the physical, emotional and spiritual health, economic opportunity, and creativity of all Skyway residents.

 

With these objectives in mind, our current and upcoming activities include:

  • Food Justice Education, Workshops & Action Planning

  • Food Justice Advocacy

  • Career Pathways in Urban Agriculture Programs

  • Grounds for Peace (Urban Gardening Programs)

Commitment (Our Guiding Principles)

These are our "draft" guiding principles, based on initial community input. We are continuing to refine these with additional input from UFSP partners.

  • Treat everyone with dignity and respect

  • Reliable, sustained commitment to Skyway 

  • Center Black voices and leadership

  • Foster belonging across Skyway’s diverse community

  • Support and prioritize community-leadership and community-based organizations

  • Take a holistic approach to health and well-being

  • Transparent communications

Meet The UFSP Core Team

Cherryl Jackson-Williams

Cherryl Jackson-Williams

Renton School District

Cherryl Jackson-Williams

(Family and Community Engagement Coordinator, Renton School District) has over thirty years experience supporting youth and families, within the behavioral health, social and human services, and family and community engagement fields. She excels at building partnerships amongst government, for profit and nonprofit entities, driven by a deep appreciation for how effective partnerships can improve the quality of life for the most vulnerable amongst us. Cherryl is an Alumni of the University of Tulsa holding a B.A. in Psychology and Sociology as well as the New College of California where she has a M.A. in Counseling Psychology.

Jamie Jackson

Jamie Jackson

The Dare2Be Project

Jamie Jackson (Executive Director, The Dare2Be Project) is a servant leader, and passionate about social justice issues, with Food Justice being premier. She is an Alumni of the University of Eastern Washington holding a B.A. in Interdisciplinary Studies with a concentration in Social Science.  As a UFSP Core Team member, her focus is on leveraging The Dare2Be Project’s workforce programs to build agricultural trade related pathways for Skyway Community Members.

Kimberly Sopher-Dunn

Kimberly Sopher-Dunn

New Birth Center for Community Inclusion

Kimberly Sopher-Dunn is the Director of Education & Community Capacity Building with New Birth Center for Community Inclusion, the co-Pastor at New Birth Ministries (with her husband, Pastor Scipio Dunn), and the founder of The Petah Villages, a newly formed Outdoor Preschool in Skyway. She is a social-justice preacher, singer/songwriter, community-based educator and author, with a Doctorate in Education in Transformative Education from Simon Fraser University.  Her goal is to realize a Sustainable Ecosystem for the Skyway Community, and her deepest desire is to magnify the voices of those impacted by the lack of nutritional self-healing foods and environmentally safe spaces.

La Tanya V.H. Dubois

La Tanya V.H. DuBois

The Silent Task Force

 

La Tanya Horce-Dubuis is the founder of The Silent Task Force and has been in the trenches of Human Service work for over 20 years.  She managed, coordinated and created programming for black and brown communities of King County and engaged with communities and youth, providing training and workshops to meet them where they were and provide resources and services in a safe, holistic space in the process. Her passion for food justice runs deep, she feels that it is a human right to have access to fresh fruits and vegetables and makes herself available every week to personally transport 200 – 300 produce boxes from the Frog Farm to the weekly Skyway Food Pantry and bi-weekly Skyway Resource Pop-up food distributions.

Ryan Quigtar

Ryan Quigtar

 Renton Innovation Zone Partnership

 

Ryan is the Executive Director of the Renton Innovation Zone Partnership, a non-profit convening over 30 organizations to improve academic outcomes for students and families through a racial equity lens in Skyway and Renton Highlands. He is completing his Master's degree in Communication Leadership at the University of Washington, with a focus on Communities and Networks. Ryan’s personal mission is to empower Communities of Color, change systems and increase generational wealth for Black and Brown people.

UFSP Community Leadership Team

Yajaira Ambrosia
Wisdom Johnson
Claude Burfect

Yajaira Ambrosia

Wisdom Johnson

Claude Burfect

Whitney King

Whitney King

File_033.jpeg
Sherry Dione
Pranay Chand

Sherry Dione

 Pranay Chand

Nailah Dunn

Avery H
Mark Tate
Gerald Bradford
Gloria Smith
Israel G

Avery Huff

Mark Tate

Gerald Bradford

Gloria Smith

Israel Gebremariam

Faith-Based Partners

New Birth Center for Community Inclusion
Restoration House Ministries Northwest
Holy Temple Evangelistic Center
Restore & Repair Missionary Church

Seattle Word

of God Church

Community-Based Organizations

The Dare2Be Project
The Silent Task Force
Renton Innovation Zone Partnership

Construyendo

Juntos

NAACP-Seattle King County
SPEB
Skyway Resource Center

Farm Partners

Nurturing Roots
Farmer Frog

Institutional & Governmental Partners

Renton School District
Washington State University
King County Logo Councilmember Girmay Za